Skip to main content
Lasque Tiarc

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Class of 2024 Inductees Announced

Vaseline 2 months ago

This year’s Rock & Roll Hall of Fame inductees were announced live on ABC’s American Idol by Ryan Seacrest and Hall of Fame inductee Lionel Richie.

They include: Mary J. Blige, Cher, Dave Matthews Band, Foreigner, Peter Frampton, Kool & the Gang, Ozzy Osbourne and A Tribe Called Quest.

Four of the eight nominees were on the ballot for the first time, including Cher, Foreigner, Kool & the Gang and Frampton.

In addition, Alexis Korner, John Mayall and Big Mama Thornton received the Musical Influence Award. Jimmy Buffett, MC5, Dionne Warwick and Norman Whitfield earned the Musical Excellence Award, and finally Suzanne de Passe received the Ahmet Ertegun Award.

READ MORE: 26 rock stars inducted into the Hall of Fame more than once

This year’s Rock Hall induction ceremony will take place on October 19 at Rocket Mortgage Fieldhouse in Cleveland, Ohio. As with previous ceremonies, the film will stream live on Disney+, air at a later date on ABC and be available on Hulu the next day. (More information about ticket sales for the awards ceremony will be announced at a later date.)

“Rock & Roll is an ever-evolving amalgam of sounds that influences culture and moves generations,” John Sykes, chairman of the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame Foundation, said in a press release. “This diverse group of inductees each broke musical barriers and influenced countless artists who followed in their footsteps.”

150 artists not in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame

Many have shared their thoughts on possible induction.

Gallery credit: Ultimate Classic Rock Staff